-----
Annapurna range before sunrise (b/w)
Annapurna Range before Sunrise, Nepal, 03/2014

Background information...

about LuminousArts Photography

The LuminousArts Photography site exists primarily in order to present some of my photos. As such it is rather a personal than a commercial site. Still, I would not mind some reimbursement by selling a few pictures - be it as print, on canvas, as a file, ...

The name "LuminousArts" was created years ago, influenced on the one hand by Harry Potter's "Defense against the Dark Arts" and on the other hand by Michael Reichmann's site "The Luminous Landscape" (that has recently become subscription based). By now, a plethora of sites has emerged with different notation. I have no connection to them and hope to come out on top of the search engine results ;).

I began with photography when I was about 14 years old. At that age I got my father's old Fujica equipment as a present for confirmation. It was a great camera: Manual focus, an exposure meter that consisted of a little needle in the viewfinder and a lever to drive the film. When the metering failed a few years later, I changed into the Nikon camp, had autofocus and half a handful of programs. I resisted the world of digital photography quite long until I finally gave in to a tiny Kyocera camera. Nice for snapshots, but in a whole this was a bad time for my photography (to lazy to splash around with the darkroom chemicals for the good analog pictures but the digital pictures were no match yet. Fortunately this changed when Nikon ended my suffering by releasing the D70 - the first affordable DSLR that convinced me, it was time for total digitalization. I swapped weekends in the darkroom with night-hours at the computer quite willingly. Some years later I moved up to the D200 and when this was stolen (partially due to my own stupidity) to the D300. I was really happy with all of these three cameras, but after returning from trekking tour in Nepal I asked myself whether it is really necessary, to haul 4 kg of photo equipment through the Himalayas. After so research the answer was "no" and I bought myself a Panasonic GX7. After a short period of testing I sold all my Nikon gear as it was not an option for me to keep to complete different systems. I will probably discuss the pros and cons of this move in an article soon (sorry, articles will only be available in German).

The only thing left to mention is that LuminousArts is a one man show. Everything on this site from webdesign to text and pictures originated in my brain and fingers, so manpower to maintain this site is limited. Okay, this should do for a first introduction. How shall I know what you are interested in? Just ask ;)

-----
Annapurna range before sunrise (b/w)
Annapurna Massiv vor Sonnenaufgang, Nepal, 03/2014

Hintergrundinfos...

über LuminousArts Photography

Die Seite LuminousArts Photography ist aus dem Wunsch heraus entstanden, meine Bilder zu präsentieren. Kommerzielle Absichten verfolge ich dabei nicht primär. Natürlich habe ich nichts dagegen, wenn jemand Bilder von mir erwerben möchte - sei es als Papierabzug, Leinwanddruck, Datei, ...

Der Name LuminousArts ist vor etlichen Jahren entstanden. Beeinflusst hat mich dabei zum einen Harry Potter mit seiner "Defense against the Dark Arts" ;) , zum anderen Michael Reichmanns Seite "The Luminous Landscape" (die allerdings neuerdings kostenpflichtig ist). Inzwischen gibt es leider ziemlich viele "LuminousArts" in verschiedenen Schreibweisen im Netz. Naja, ich kann's nicht ändern und ich hoffe, mich in den Suchmaschinenergebnissen irgendwann weit genug nach oben zu arbeiten.

Mit der Photographie habe ich mit ca. 14 Jahren begonnen, als ich zur Konfirmation die alte Fujica-Ausrüstung meines Vaters bekommen habe: Manueller Fokus, ein Belichtungsmesser, dessen Zeiger im Sucher Über- oder Unterbelichtung andeutete, und ein Hebel, um den Film weiter zu transportieren. Als der Belichtungsmesser irgendwann aufgegeben hat, bin ich ins Nikon-Lager gewechselt und hatte zum ersten Mal Autofokus und ein paar Automatiken. Den Einstieg in die digitale Welt habe ich lange verweigert, bis ich schließlich eine kleine Kyocera Digi-Knipse erstanden habe. Nett für Schnappschüsse, ansonsten aber eher eine photographische Durststrecke (keine Lust mehr, auf die Chemiepanscherei für die gute Analoge, aber die Bilder der Digitalen waren nicht so richtig überzeugend). Als Nikon dann schließlich mit der D70 die erste erschwingliche DSLR herausbrachte, die mich überzeugt hat, änderte sich das und ich habe gerne die Wochenenden in der Dunkelkammer gegen die Abendstunden am Computer getauscht. Es folgte eine D200, die ich mir klauen lassen habe und dann eine D300. Mit all diesen Kameras war ich sehr zufrieden, allerdings stellte sich mir nach der Nepal-Tour die Frage, ob man unbedingt 4 kg Photoausrüstung durch's Himalaya schleppen muss. Nach einiger Recherche habe ich diese Frage mit nein beantwortet und bin auf eine Panasonic GX7 umgestiegen, weil es für mich keine Option war, zwei völlig unterschiedliche Kamerasysteme zu besitzen. Über das Für und Wider dieses Umstiegs werde ich wahrscheinlich demnächst mal in einem Artikel berichten.

Ansonsten bleibt noch zu sagen, dass LuminousArts eine One-Man-Show ist. Von den Bildern über die Texte bis zur Homepagegestaltung ist also alles meinen Fingern entsprungen und die Zeitressourcen für die Pflege dieser Seite sind dementsprechend nicht so üppig. So, für eine erste Vorstellung sollte das reichen. Ich weiß ja nicht, was Euch sonst noch interessiert... Fragt einfach.